Oscar and Emmy Visit the Vet by Terri Sabol ★★★★☆ #BookReview #BookBlog #ReadToKids

Primary Genre(s): Children’s Fiction, Picture Book
Published: 1 June 2020 by Burning the Midnight Oil Publishing
Page count: 32
My Format: eBook
Cover: Cats!
Pacing: Good
Ending: Good
Would I recommend it: Yes
Commission Link: Buy Oscar and Emmy Visit the Vet
My rating: ★★★★☆

Synopsis
Going to the vet isn’t just for when fur babies are sick. Just like children have yearly check ups, our pets need them, too. This book encourages children to be part of the process of helping to maintain the health of their pets, and how to look for early signs if something is wrong. Learn what your family can do to help your pets live a longer and healthier life.

My Thoughts
I am a huge cat fan (I have two adopted cats myself) so children’s books with cats on the cover tend to catch my eye. This book is full of details about what happens before, during, and after a trip to the vet. Here are my pros and cons for Oscar and Emmy Visit the Vet:

Pros

  1. Emmy and Oscar are two cats going to the vet for their yearly medical examination. The book covers how animals can be scared to go to the vet, actions Charlie and Abby (the children who care for the cats) can take to calm them down, procedures the veterinary technician and the doctor will perform to examine the cats, and tips the vet will provide to help cats stay healthy and happy.
  2. I thought the information about cat care was clear and presented in an understandable manner for the target age group (see Con #1).   
  3. The vet spoke directly to the children in the book when explaining details.
  4. The illustrations (by Roksana Oslizlo) are bold, colorful, and fun.
  5. There are extra details at the back of the book about how to brush your cats teeth, trim their nails, and prevent hairballs.
  6. This book is about real-life cats adopted by the author.

Cons

  1. While I thought the information was understandable for the target age group, I did think the book was a little wordy. Younger readers might lose interest.
  2. The text was so small! I read an ebook version, but still I felt like a larger font size would have been a better choice, especially since there was ample space on the pages for larger text.

Summary
According to the author biography on Amazon, the author was inspired to write the Oscar and Emmy books (there are others in the series) after adopting two kittens from a shelter. She wanted “to promote compassion towards animals, to inform people about rescue and adoption, to inspire people to do something related to rescue (adopt, foster, volunteer, or donate), and to entertain children”. I’ve only read this one book from the series, but it seems to me she is accomplishing her goals.

This book is targeted to children ages 4 through 10. I would recommend it for any children with cats in their lives.

If you would like to read this book and form your own opinion, please consider purchasing through this link: Buy Oscar and Emmy Visit the Vet. As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you. Thanks!

Click here for a description of my rating scale.

(image from Goodreads)

Where to find me:
Facebook: @KayckayBookReviews
Twitter: @KayckayReviews
WordPress: Kayckay Book Reviews

Leave a comment